JK Harris Reviews

Show reviews that mention
money irs tax case people attorney refund phone state calls
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
We entered into a contract with JK Harris over a year ago. We have discovered that we have been lied to and basically gotten nothing for the money taken from our bank account each month. Recently we called the tax agencies Federal and State and was told that no one had...
View full review
View full review
107 comments
#499456

I also was ripped off! I spent $3000 to get the run around. My stomach has been in knots for years because I hired them back in 2007 and still dealing with the situation.

I also want to know of any class action suits.

View more comments
ID
#151128 Review #151128 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Jose, California
I called them back in 1999 and paid $5,000 to have my Washington, DC and Maryland state tax and IRS taxes compromised. After submitting documents over and over again, year after year I thought that we entered into an Offer of Compromise with both states for years 1999...
View full review
View full review
ID
#442376 Review #442376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Loss
$15000

I was scammed by JK Harris

I had a face to face meeting at JK Harris in Johnson City, TN. I am a disabled man and I was scammed out of $1000.00 by this company. I gave them every document they ever requested. When it seemed that nothing was happening I would contact them and was told each time that they were waiting for me to provide documents that I had already provided to them. I contacted the IRS directly when I was being threatened by them, and I told them the JK Harris was working on my behalf. The IRS told me..ah no, they have never contacted us about anything regarding you. I then followed the instructions on the JK Harris website and demanded a full refund. They then sent me a letter stating that indeed they had done what was they said they would do and it was me that was not giving them the documents they needed so they closed my case. If I wanted the case reopened it would cost me MORE MONEY! I have never been contacted by anyone regarding this company. No emails or phone calls. The state I live in has sued JK Harris and I've heard nothing what so ever. I discovered all of this today on my own.
View full review
ID
#373315 Review #373315 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johnson City, Tennessee
Loss
$1000
New Reviewer

Screwed me too!

Went to JK Harris about 5-6 years ago. Gave them the money and thought back tasxes were piad. Tried to get a loan today and found out it wasn't paid. What do I do now. I don't have the money to pay th taxes, That's why I went to them in the first place. How can I get my money back. We go to people like this for help and we just get screwed again. How can we ever get our money back? They take advantage of people like us how go th them for help and just walk away with Millions or een Billions in their pockets.
View full review
ID
#343462 Review #343462 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania

Ripped off

I went to J.K Harris in August 2009- November2009, I told the consultant I had already made payment arrangements with the IRS. THese people told me there was no way the IRS would agree with the payment, so they took 1800 dollars which I tried to retreive howver because they did not do what they had promise. I sent letters and e-mails justfying why I should not be charged, In the end the IRS accepted my payment arrangement and I am still out of 1800 dollars. SO I pray they got what they deserved. Sincerely, Pissed off consumer
View full review
ID
#335177 Review #335177 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Warrenton, North Carolina
Loss
$1800
New Reviewer

Jk harris

These terds took about $5,000 and did nothing. Every time I called,they gave me a new person to help me. I guess they had employees coming and going like a revolving door. Funny how I don"t see his comercials on TV anymore. Old fat JK must have took the money and ran. Sure hope he gets his in the end. DON"T EVEN THINK ABOUT HAVING THIS GUY HELP YOU!!!! HE WILL HURT YOU. You will owe more then you already do after he rakes you over. I would NOT recommend this guy to anyone.They string you along until you paid you fee & then tell you they did everything,but no luck. When you first go to meet the guy for your initial meetin,he"s in some little office and basically tells you he can hepl you. First pay him about $800 today and he scribles some figures on a sheet of paper and tells you this is all you will pay. What a much of lies. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS J.K. TERD
View full review
2 comments
#1713204

String that SOB up! I better never crash him

#518816

We had the same experience except it cost us 7,000. I couldn't understand why our account was being handled by a different person each time I called.

They strung us along for a couple of years, making us send them complete financial statements every six months. Then they ended up doing nothing for us that had been promised.

IRS put a lien on us and we still haven't resolved it. I wish I had looked them up before we spent money to pay those crooks.

View more comments (1)
ID
#320925 Review #320925 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Paul, Minnesota

False advertising

IDID MY TAXE ON THE 17th did not get nothing irs already deposit my money into JH bank is good tp go somewhere else stay away from the thiefs we need. To post some sign so people dont do the mistake idid This going to be the last year to do my taxe whit JH They need to treat people better than what they doing constumer is where your paycheck c Come from you need realized befor you *** scam hard working people IF You JH store go the opposite Way ALERT ALERT be careful ask question you want to know
View full review
1 comment
#487112

u must have been drunk when u wrote this my spelling is horrible but I couldnt even understand what u wher saying

ID
#293139 Review #293139 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tooele, Utah
New Reviewer

JK Harris Screwed Me

I contacted JK Harris in December 2011 to get help resolving my tax debt from 2005 - ****. They did not tell me they were in bankruptcy proceeding and took my money anyway, $1,150.00. As December 28, 2010 they ceased operations. None of their 800 number work and they have an auto repsonse email they send you when you email them. If anyone knows of a current class action suit against them that I can join please contact me at richtersmark@***.com. We need to put this company totally out of business and John K. Harris should do jail time!
View full review
ID
#289976 Review #289976 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sibley, Iowa

JK Harris just took $10,000.00

JK Harris or crook, just took $10,000 from my husband and I 3 months ago then went belly up. Everytime I called them they told me they were working on it and acted agitated. I can't believe anybody would let them file bankruptcy because of the people he has ripped off. This guy is a crook and evidently has something going in with General Motors. I will never buy another GM product as long as I live. It is time for America to take a stand and boycott all these fat bastards. Please who is with me? If we would start boycotting these fat bastards then they might end up hurting a little too.
View full review
ID
#289632 Review #289632 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Athens, Georgia

JK Harris ripped me off

I concated JK Harris back in April of 2011 to resolve from 2003 to 2010. they charged me 2,500 for federal and 600.00 for city & state. Everything was fine until October 2011 when I submitted the final documents they needed to complete everything. I didn't hear from them for several months and after the holidays I called to fine that the phone numbers I has were all disconnected. I had the # to the person I first spoke to and he informed me that the company went outof business. I had to resolve my tax problem myself. I think I should get some of my money back.
View full review
1 comment
#474222

they ripped me off

ID
#287630 Review #287630 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York

JK HARRIS

JUST GOT A CALL TO TELL ME THAT JK HARRIS WENT BELLY UP. PAID 1600.00 FOR WHAT "NOTHING" WHATS NEXTED IRS TO TELL ME THATS INCOME. TV ADS ON MAJOR NETWORKS SHOULD TAKE SOME BLAME I THINK. NOT SURE, HOW TO RECOUPE MY MONEY AND ALL MY DOCS. SCAM SCAM I STARTED USING THEM IN DEC 2011 YOU WOULD THINK SOMEONE KNEW THAT THEY WERE GOING BELLY UP AND THEY STILL TOOK CLIENTS. NOW YOU CAN NOT TRUST ANYONE WITH ANYTHING. I AM OUT OF WORK TO BOOT AND HAD THE IRS DOWN ON ME NOW THIS. WHATS NEXTED
View full review
1 comment
#403553

JK Harris's financial problem was not really a secret. They lost a class action lawsuit and went bankrupt because of it.

However, as to your problem: you will be out whatever you paid them, I expect as the receiver and lawyers will be first in line to get paid. You need to contact IRS YOURSELF, as soon as possible and find out just what your problem is and how you can resolve it. If you are unemployed and have little, if any equity in assets, then you can do yourself, with the help of an IRS Revenue Officer, what you were paying JK Harris to do---namely file an Offer in Compromise. This is where you offer to pay a certain amount, based on your assets, etc to compromise your liability.

Altho not an easy thing to do, it certainly is not that difficult especially if you can get a good Revenue Officer assigned your case. Start by calling whomever or whatever IRS office contacted you last and tell them you wish to have your case transferred to the field and to a Revenue Officer in the office closest to your domicile. Then, when you are contacted, sit down and ask for his help. If you talk to IRS and are willing to co-operate, they will work with you.

If you ignore them or become intransigent, they will come down on your like a ton of bricks. Start by telling them you cannot pay now as you are unemployed, etc. They will take a financial statement and evaluate your financial situation, etc. and you can go from there.

Giving someone like JK Harris $1600 to represent you was foolish---for you or anyone.

But, hindsight is great, isn't it? I wish you good luck.

ID
#286554 Review #286554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania

J.K.Harris Ripped me off

I got a letter from the I.R.S. saying I had $25,000 unclaimed income from 1994. They wanted $14,000 in fines. They never stated who claimed paid me the money. This went on for years. They said they were going to garnish my wages so I hired J.K.Harris. I paid them $2,500. All I asked them to do was to find out from the I.R.S. who says paid this money to me. They had my case for four years and never came up with anything. The I.R.S. went ahead and garnished my wages, I made a deal with them to release the garnish by paying them $400.00 a month. I did this for a year. I finially contacted the I.R.S avocaites, It took them three days to get back to me with the answer that J.K.Harris could not in four years. It turns out I was inocent and everything was droped.I only got part of my money back from the I.R.S but the whole deal messed up my credit for years and cost me a lot of hardship. I contacted J.K.Harris about getting my money back from them and they (laughed) at me and said to go ahead and try to sue them, then laughed again at me and said good luck with that., Michael Stephens
View full review
ID
#278509 Review #278509 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
New Reviewer

Did not send my refund!!

JKHarris did nothing for me when I came to them for tax relief. They not only got the tax year wrong that I was worried about but they also charged me to much money. So I still owe the IRS and to top it off when I mentioned JKHarris to the IRS they told me that I should have gave the money to them instead of the JKHarris co. I canceled my agreement with JKHarris and I was do a small refund within 120 business days and that has come and gone. My wife was told by JKHarris that the company was filing bankruptcy, so I don't know what to do now????? I guess I'll just have to write that one off as a lessoned learned........
View full review
2 comments
#403481

I used Americas Tax Network they charged me $99 to evaluate my situation. I knew what was going on in 24 hours and in 30 days my situation was resolved. I also spoke directly to the person handling my tax situation he was former IRS.

www.americastaxnetwork.com

#382622

JK Harris filed bankruptcy this last month, and they have abandoned all their clients. I searched around and found another company called Tax Resolution Professionals that gives you a guarantee of 40% off what you paid JK Harris to do your case properly.

JK Harris never released my garnishment but they got it off in about a week. It turned out JK Harris never did the tax returns they said they were going to do that were required to get the garnishment off my wages. I reccomend giving TRP a call at (888) 515-**** or fill out the contact form on their website at www.taxresolutionprofessionals.com.

And you can actually get a hold of the lawyers there. at JK I could never get ahold of anyone.

View more comments (1)
ID
#272622 Review #272622 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
New Reviewer

Took my money and failed to produce

JK Harris is a bunch of theives who take your money, then take their time. They do not communicate with the IRS like they say they do. What they won't tell you is, that if you owe it, you have to pay it. They do not return phone calls or emails. They get accounts mixed up. They took over a year on my case and when all was said and done they were not even working on my business tax situation, like I had hired them to do. They took $8000.00 dollars, didn't do squat, then offered me $1400.00 if I signed an agreemnt to not say anything bad about them. Well guess what. I sure as heck can't say anything good about them. Bonafied, card carrying crooks!
View full review
ID
#270788 Review #270788 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ramsey, Illinois
New Reviewer

JK Harris

Do not fall for JK Harris IRS represenation scam. I'm another consumer that now realizes (too late of course) that JK Harris & Co is at best incompetent, and at worst crooks. Same story as the others I suppose. They take your money at a time when you are most vulnerable...during an IRS audit, or under threat of it.Turns out IRS WILL NOT accept a rep that won't phyiscally be present with you (at least my auditor would not)....and they stay in Goose ***, SC supposedly handling everything by phone, letter & email. The IRS has ZERO respect for them.....which puts you in an even worse position than if you didn't use them....... So I stopped them before they had made the first contact with the IRS, Waiting months for my refund.........which they say I am owed (a partial). Worse, you can't even write it off as bad debt!
View full review
ID
#269587 Review #269587 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida
New Reviewer

I have a judgment against JK Harris. Help Me Enforce It.

JK Harris ripped me off as well. So I sued them, and they never appeared at court. I now hold a judgment against them. I am looking for collection agencies who are enforcing their debt papers against anyone, including all their victims. If you know what collection agency might be working with them, please contact me. TGCo2011@***.com. My judgment is for about $5000.00 and when I find a collection agency I'm going to garnish their holdings. That's the only way to get to JK's money. If they ripped you off, SUE THEM. They won't even show up to defend. TG
View full review
ID
#262251 Review #262251 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Aurora, Colorado

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article